Congrats to UWSP men’s hockey on unbeaten National Championship season!

Updated: March 19, 2019

STEVENS POINT, Wis. – Sophomore Steven Quagliata(Bartlett, Ill.) scored 15:13 into the first overtime as No. 1-ranked UW-Stevens Point won the program’s sixth National Championship in program history by a 3-2 final over No. 3/4 Norwich.  The win extended UWSP’s program record unbeaten streak to 31 games (29-0-2) and the Pointers became the first-ever unbeaten National Champions in Division III history.

Sophomore goaltender Connor Ryckman (Minesing, Ont.) picked up his 26th win of the year, also a program record for single-season victories by a goaltender.   He made 26 saves, including four in overtime.
After a pair of scoreless periods, the Pointers broke the ice early in the third.  Just 3:31 into the period, Danny Kiraly (Glendale, Ariz.) fired a shot from the boards that freshman Jordan Fader (Rice Lake, Wis.) tipped in for a 1-0 lead.  Ryan MacKellar(Indianapolis, Ind.) also had an assist on the goal.
Just over a minute later, Colin Raver (Bartlett, Ill.) made it 2-0 in favor of the Pointers.  Tanner Karty (Oklahoma City, Okla.) and Zach Zech (South Lyon, Mich.) picked up assists on the goal.
At 7:01 of the third, Norwich got on the board.  Coby Downs slipped one past Ryckman to cut UWSP’s lead to 2-1.
Downs scored again at the 12:15 mark to tie the game at 2-2.  Both teams had chances late in regulation and through the first part of overtime.
At 15:13 of overtime, Quagliata skated down the near boards and flipped a wrister top-shelf for the game winner.  Stephan Beauvais (Shelby Township, Mich.) and Raver were credited with assists on the game-winner.
Norwich goaltender Tom Aubrun stopped 42 shots, before the game-winner.  The Cadets finished runner-up with a 23-5-3 record.
The Pointers racked up a number of honors after the championship.  Senior Tanner Karty (Oklahoma City, Okla.) was named Most Outstanding Player of the Championship.  Kiraly, Ryckman and Raver also earned all-tournament team honors.