KU players lose captain title after Mayfield snub

Updated: November 21, 2017

3:58 PM ET

Kansas football coach David Beaty announced Tuesday that linebacker Joe Dineen, defensive tackle Daniel Wise and defensive end Dorance Armstrong won’t serve as captains Saturday at Oklahoma State.

The three Jayhawks snubbed the handshake attempt of Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield at midfield after the coin toss prior to kickoff last weekend.

Mayfield brought to tears addressing discipline

An emotional Baker Mayfield broke down twice in tears Monday while answering questions about discipline Oklahoma imposed for Saturday’s senior day as a result of his actions in a game against Kansas.

In a phone interview with ESPN, Dineen called the ploy to send a message to Mayfield and the Sooners “a dumb impulse decision.”

“That’s not how this game should be played,” Dineen said. “It won’t happen from me or from this program again.”

As tensions on both sides escalated following the coin toss snub, Mayfield grabbed his crotch and appeared to yell “F— you!” at the Kansas sideline during the third quarter.

On Monday, Oklahoma coach Lincoln Riley announced Mayfield wouldn’t serve as a captain in the Sooners’ regular-season finale against West Virginia for his actions. Riley also said Mayfield would not start in his final home appearance with the Sooners.

Article source: http://www.espn.com/college-football/story/_/id/21505885/three-kansas-jayhawks-lose-captain-title-snubbing-oklahoma-baker-mayfield